Questions & Information
Call 706.724.0436
Wildrow Wilson Boyhood Home

Walk with the Spirits

Click here to purchase tickets or sponsorships!

Historic Augusta’s annual cemetery tour, Walk with the Spirits, returns this October! Please mark your calendars to “Walk with the Spirits” through Saint Paul’s historic colonial churchyard on Saturday, October 28 and Sunday, October 29, and experience history come alive! During a 45-minute guided tour with a “spirit” dressed in period costume, patrons will join Historic Augusta on a special trip through Augusta’s past and learn about the city’s most notable citizens. Along the route, additional spirits will enlighten the group with details of their lives and accomplishments.

Historic Augusta is currently seeking sponsors for the event, which includes a unique opportunity to “Sip with the Spirits” at the home of Cheryl and Sam Tyson, 2403 William Street, after the last tour on Sunday, October 29.

Tours begin every 20 minutes from 1:20 pm each day, with the last tour commencing at 4:00 pm. Tickets are $15 per person, but group discounts are available for groups of 10 or more. Reservations are recommended.

To make a tour reservation, sponsor the event, or for more information, contact Historic Augusta at 706-724-0436.


Sarah Hudson Barnes (d. 1794): Wife of George Barnes, an Irish immigrant and wine merchant who served as a “Chairman of the Vestry” at Saint Paul’s Church. The church is built over their graves.

Reverend William Henry Clarke (1820-1877): Widely beloved and respected Rector of Saint Paul’s Church, who served through the Civil War until his untimely death at the beside of a parishioner. Buried in the crypt beneath the altar.

Lewis Cooper (1785-1817): Mechanic, bridge builder, and Fire Master remembered for constructing the original Centre (Fifth) Street Bridge between Augusta and South Carolina.

Joseph George Cormick (1780-1806): A local merchant, whose political opinions were influenced by his time in the Irish militia unit known as the Irish Volunteers, and his membership in the United Irishmen, for which he was imprisoned by the British.

Jean Baptiste Francis Coquillon (1781-1818): A merchant whose family fled the Haitian Revolution in 1793 and established a cloth dying business on Ellis Street.

Catherine “Kitty” McKnight Jack (1755-1792): Wife of Colonel Samuel Jack, who served as Justice of the Peace for Richmond County in 1776 under the revolutionary state government and remained in that position after the war.

Seaborn Jones (1759-1815): A renowned politician and early Georgia lawyer, his impressive career includes serving as Clerk of the Executive Council of Georgia, Trustee of Richmond Academy, Speaker of the Georgia General Assembly, Trustee of University of Georgia, and Intendant (Mayor) of Augusta.

General George Matthews (1739-1812): A renowned firebrand, POW, and Governor of Georgia, Matthews died in Augusta on his way to give President Madison a firm piece of his mind regarding the annexation of Florida.

Elizabeth Pope McKinne (1747-1807): Matriarch of one of Augusta’s most notable families of the Nineteenth Century, McKinne kept a very selective boardinghouse after her husband’s death, in which only the most eligible bachelors were permitted, hoping to find good husbands for her four daughters.

Alexander McLaws (d. 1800): A native of Scotland, McLaws settled with his family in Augusta after they were left shipwrecked off the coast of Cumberland Island. He established a tavern in this city and became a prominent landowner, whose descendants include James Lafayette McLaws, a Major General in the Confederate States Army.